March 23, 2014

Penn St. NCAA Div. I Wrestling Champs

A big congrats goes out to Penn St. for their fourth consecutive NCAA Team Wrestling Title under Cael Sanderson, who has been coach at PSU for just five years.  An amazing tournament capped off by the dominant performances of seniors Ed Ruth and David Taylor who will close out their college careers with a combined record of 270-6, five individual titles, and four team titles!

A shout out goes to Logan Stieber who won his third consecutive title this time moving up a weight class to 141 as well as his Ohio State Buckeyes who wrapped up the tournament in 6th place overall.  A stronger season is coming next year for the Buckeyes! 

To read the entire recap click here. 

Stieber on his way to a 3rd consecutive title! 
Team Standings:
1. Penn State 109.5
2. Minnesota 104
3. Oklahoma State 96.5
4. Iowa 78.5
5. Edinboro 62
6. Ohio St. 57
7. Cornell 53
8. Virginia Tech 49
9. Northwestern 46
10. Oklahoma 45


Finals Results:
174: No. 1 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 2 Andrew Howe (Oklahoma), 4-0
184: No. 2 Ed Ruth (Penn State) dec. No. 1 Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland), 7-2
197: No. 2 J'den Cox (Missouri) dec. No. 1 Nick Heflin (Ohio State), 2-1
285: No. 2 Nick Gwiazdowski (North Carolina State) dec. No. 1 Tony Nelson (Minnesota), 4-2
125: No. 1 Jesse Delgado (Illinois) dec. No. 2 Nahshon Garrett (Cornell), 3-2
133: No. 3 Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. No. 5 Tyler Graff (Wisconsin), 3-1
141: No. 2 Logan Stieber (Ohio State) maj. dec. No. 4 Devin Carter (Virginia Tech), 10-1
149: No. 5 Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern) dec. No. 11 Josh Kindig (Oklahoma State), 3-1 SV
157: No. 3 Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State) maj. dec. No. 9 Dylan Ness (Minnesota), 13-4
165: No. 1 David Taylor (Penn State) dec. No. 2 Tyler Caldwell (Oklahoma State), 6-0

No comments:

Post a Comment